Beachy Keen

Treasures

Like most people I love the beach. I’ve loved it ever since I was a kid. It is the one place I feel truly relaxed and this is probably because some of my most cherished childhood memories are of family holidays to the beach. We have had some real shockers too mind you, but they are overshadowed by the many blissful weeks of making sand creations, jumping waves and sitting on the tailgate of the 4×4 at dusk watching my parents fishing. My most favourite beach past time is walking the beach at low tide looking for shells. I love strolling along the vast stretches of sand and exploring the little pools the tide leaves behind looking for the treasures washed up by the waves.

Obviously my parents gifted me with this love of the coast and it’s a passion that still drives them. They have a townhouse at Hastings Point, a little township on the northern NSW coast. The place is a shrine to all things beachy. My mother’s amazing paintings & drawings of shells, the coastline & sea life adorn the walls as do photos of her 4 grandchildren enjoying the beach.

Some of my mum's amazing creations. Photo do not do them justice.

In almost every room there are tall glass jars full of the hundreds of shells collected over the near decade they have been here. They escape to this little haven whenever possible and we often join them. It is a delight for me, and I am sure also for my parents, to see the same love of the beach (& for shelling) radiating from my children. Beckam especially loves looking for washed up treasures and tries to find as many skimming stones as possible. They both love jumping waves and riding down the estuary with daddy on a boogie board.
 
Kites are flown, frisbees are thrown. Memories are made.

BamBam making discoveries

Comments

  1. Louise Hughes says:

    How beautiful Nee! Love your mum’s pics too… she’s very talented xxx

Leave a Reply

