Ode to Spaghetti

My belly is full of sushi and chai latte…

My heart is full of Spaghetti x

Tumblr_lb6zfsm4j21qdwetoo1_400_large

I’ve never believed in soul mates. 

I have come to believe in caretakers for your soul.

People who nurture you.  Listen to your fears. Don’t judge you. Validate your feelings. Love you for who you are. Support you, no matter what. Give you strength even when they are not feeling strong in themselves.

My chief caretaker is Spaghetti. She is wise, caring, funny and more amazing than she will ever give herself credit for. She has even let me get away with calling her Spaghetti for the last ten years, even though I’m sure it’s her least favourite nickname.

She does an exceptional job tending my soul and I will be forever grateful for her unwavering friendship and support.

Do you believe in soul mates or do you prescribe to my theory of caretakers for the soul?

 

 

 

Image from We Heart It

Comments

  1. I do believe in soul mates. My soul mate is my husband. I also believe that people we meet whether its for a moment or a life time shapes the person we become or who we are.

    Its great to tell the people in your life how you feel. I think everyone in the world should have a caretaker like yours!

    I enjoyed your post. First time to your blog.

    • How fortunate you are to have married someone you consider a soul mate. My husband is a caretaker but sometimes needs to be reminded of his duties 😉

      Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to comment. I hope you continue to enjoy my posts x

  2. Spaghetti says:

    You made me cry! x

    I think a “caretaker” friendship is an amazing, fluid thing. It ebbs and flows seemingly intuitively depending on current needs (wow, lots of ocean imagery there! – cheesy on the “current” – haha). You always know when I need extra “Nee time” and despite your hectic life, always manage to make me feel special (when I most need someone to make me feel special).

    Thank you, Nee xxx

  3. I think that’s a beautiful way to look at things darling.

  4. I do, I really, really do! But I think that we should be open to finding these people in everyone we meet. You see, they don’t have to be ‘soul mates’ to be good for the soul. Some people may only be a part of our lives for an instance, but they leave a lasting impression. x

Leave a Reply

