Bubbles

Yesterday was not a good day.

The moment their little eyes popped open my boys were in full monster mode.

Unfortunately, due to lack of sleep & a touch of the lurgy, I wasn’t at the top of my game (common of late) and a few poorly managed incidents early in the piece seemed to set the tone for the rest of the day.

By mid afternoon things were at an all time low. I had managed to get the house work done but still needed to go to the post office & supermarket. A prospect I was not looking forward to with two monsters in tow. I was also looking down the barrel of a solo mission through witching hour & bedtime as The Man was off doing… man-things.

So, I did what any self respecting mummy-0n-the-edge would do. I resorted to bribery.

Aren’t kids fickle? The simple offer of blowing bubbles & a gingerbread man on our safe return home turned my little antagonists into little angels instantly. With only one near-miss, I managed to get them in the car, around the shops & home again incident free.

Of course my little angels disappeared with the crumbs of the gingerbread man & the pop of the last bubble, but I did manage to capture a few snaps of the small slice of magic that graced our otherwise ill-fated day.

Does bribery work for your kids? What’s their bribe of preference?

Leave a Reply

