Grateful for…two little boys

… with too many toys!!

I am very grateful that my boys are so close.  Not just in age but as brothers and best mates. They are so very different but have already begun to compliment each other’s strengths and together they are shaping up as quite a formidable team.  God help me in years to come.

No matter what the game, they play so well together. So grateful that Bam Bam is now old enough to play along with all of the Wilful One’s complex rules and storylines!

I love that they can play trucks and trains and pirates, all the while relishing in each other’s pure boyness. I’m sure different sex siblings can be just as close and I certainly don’t mean to generalise. We don’t push our boys towards toys or games with a particular gender bias. Believe me, there are lots of games of house (complete with breastfeeding mummy’s) and they have a kitchen set up, play dress ups with my shoes and love putting on my make up. The Wilful One’s favourite colours are even pink and purple!

While we don’t get too caught up in gender bias, I’m amazed at how often I get asked when I will try for a girl. My response – why would I do that?

It is chaotic  rewarding enough with our little family of four. And, quite frankly, I would ruin a girl. The theme of this blog and my handbag obsession are about as girly as I get. I’m really not sure what I would do with a girl, especially now that I’m surrounded by so many boys!

I know for a fact The Man is also very grateful for boys. The thought of dealing with a teenage girl makes both of us shudder and I’m sure,  after finding out we were having a girl, my husband would go straight out and buy a chastity belt and a gun.

I find it interesting that people think that as a woman I would feel the need to have a daughter. I can honestly say even when I was pregnant with the boys I had no preconceptions (pardon the pun) about what gender they would be. I was just so grateful for relatively smooth pregnancies and births resulting in BIG healthy babies. Ok, possibly not that grateful for the big part.

Over the next few weeks I’m going to join in with the Seven Cherubs’ Cherish Your Cherubs Project.  I’ve been wanting to do some posts reflecting more on my boys and this is the perfect opportunity to start. It was this reason I started blogging in the first place, after all.

Today, I’m linking up as usual with Maxabella Loves… because I truly am grateful for my two little boys.

Comments

  1. I love boys too! And have been asked several times if I will ‘try’ for a girl. No way! Life is fun with boys. And I wouldn’t change it for the world. So glad your boys are best friends. That’s awesome!

    xx

  2. I’m grateful for having heathy, happy babies too.
    I have no idea of what it would be like to have boys. Two of my aunties have four boys each and there’s something about the bond they share that’s different to what you see girls share.
    I really should be doing Naomi’s linkup too! x

  3. Your post is very close to my heart xxx there is only 5 years between all 4 of my boys so they are really close. We have two sets of bunks but they insist on sleeping together every night (oldest with youngest, and then the middle two together) and I don’t have the heart to force them into separate beds! They do fight from time to time – mainly when mucking around and someone cops one in the face, and they yell at each other a lot, but most of the time they are the best of buddies and when I walk into the living room and they are all piled up on one couch lying all over each other watching a movie my heart just about melts 🙂 I have lost count of the number of times I have been asked if I want to try for a girl (it must be about 2 million by now)…..people find it so hard to believe that I like it how it is. I never found out what I was having with any of them – they were all surprises – and when No. 4 was born I was PRAYING AND WISHING he would be a boy – and he was!!!! I do a lot of things with them now but I do worry as they get older I will have less of a part to play in their lives, whereas if I had girls I would be out shopping with them, etc. Im pretty sure teenage boys do not want to go shopping with their mum hahaha.

    • Ooh I know the exact feeling you describe when you catch them lazing all over each other on the couch! Just think of all that lovely quiet time we will have when they turn into grunting teenage boys 😉

  4. I think men who have brothers they are close to are the best kind of men. I don’t know why that is, but it is. Maybe because they actually have a bloke they open up to? Not sure. x

    • Perhaps it’s because they have someone who knows all their secrets & it helps to keep them honest! Either way I’m grateful that having each other will make my boys better men x

  5. Ah they are gorgeous! My 2 boys are best mates as well even with the 3 1/2 years between them they just love hanging out together.. Enjoy your boys~ ! x

  6. Oh, they’re so cute Nee. I always thought I was destined to have daughters. I knew what to do with them. I still don’t know what to do with boy but I feel a real connection with my son that I don’t have with my daughter. I have like a ‘take it for granted’ relationship with her. She sometimes reminds me that I do more stuff with my son and I love him more but it’s not the case. He also drives me more crazy. Ah, there’s no happy medium. I love them both dearly.

    Anne xx

Leave a Reply

