I know older is not necessarily wiser

I know that this week  I’m definitely older, but not necessarily wiser. Here’s what I do know for sure this week:

I know that turning 31 is much harder than turning 30. There is no claiming association with the twenty-somethings now.

I know that deep, deep down, I’m ok with that.

I know around this time last year I jumped out of a perfectly good plane at 14 000 feet. It’s easy peasy, you just …

I know it was freakin’ awesome and I can’t wait to do it again. Next time I’ll be making The Man jump too.

I know my favourite birthday-day ritual is spending the whole day with my bestie doing something we love. This year was no exception and it was a lovely interlude in the week that was.

I know that Tuesday’s visit to the children’s hospital ED with Bam Bam aged me more than 100 birthdays ever could. It was asthma related. He is doing fine. I am still  a complete train wreck  recovering.

I know I wouldn’t have been able to successfully keep a ‘roided up feral toddler confined to a hospital bed for 5 hours without the help of my iPhone & it’s repertoire of apps.  So grateful for modern parenting crutches!

I know we are very lucky to have made it 5 years into this parenting gig without out a hospital visit before now. Very lucky indeed. 

I know I’m so happy that Spring has sprung (even though I am no longer young!) because hopefully it will bring an end to our run of illness for a few months. Or at least put the brakes on a little.

Linking up with Yay for Home’s Things I Know.

What do you know this week? And tell me, would you ever jump out of a plane?

Comments

  1. So glad to hear Bam Bam is doing ok, I have inside information… Also let me know when you plan to jump again. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do but my hubby isn’t keen.. Wanted to jump for my 30th but as usual life got in the way. Love reading your blog 🙂

  2. What a great thing to do for your birthday! And I was way cooler with 30 than 31 as well

  3. I am glad you had a lovely birthday . I remember nursing roided up toddlers with asthma scary abd busy … Yrs before i things or even mobile phones with games. I am feeling old.

  4. Happy Birthday! How awesome that you jumped out a plane!!

  5. I know what you mean about hospital.

    I have always wanted to jump out of a plane but I probably never will.
    I hope you had a lovely birthday.

  6. Oh, my heart was a flutter looking at those photos!! Eeekkk! A little too scary for this ol’ woman! Hehe! 😉
    Hope the little one – and you – are OK too!! xx

  7. I relied on the iPad to placate the toddler for two emergency GP visits last week! God invented technology because he stuffed up not giving us mums eight arms!

  8. I know……in fact, I have never been more certain of anything, that I would NEVER jump out of plane! I have two completely irrational phobias – sharks is the first (which I actually think is a perfectly rational phobia) and heights is second. This is a perfectly good reason to avoid trying out for the Amazing Race :)) but well done you!

    • Oh I’m fully pertrified of heights which is why I did it. To be honest it’s beyond high so that particular fear is kinda irrelevant once you get up there! As for the sharks – I jumped over the ocean so sharks were definitely on my mind!

Leave a Reply

