Grateful for… rainy days and mother-in-laws (who’d have thought?)

This post was going to be all about how grateful I was for yesterday being a rainy day. I’m sick. Sinus infection. No fun at all. BUT a rainy day is the perfect excuse to bum around inside, being lazy and, well,  just being sick.

As the day started I was grateful for the telly – it was distracting the kids while I stole a  little extra shut eye.

When I managed to get up I gratefully consumed my body weight in raisin toast and coffee (working roughly on the feed a cold, starve a fever principle).

I was grateful for play dough (which I usually can’t stand in the house because it makes such a mess) because it kept the boys happily amused while I blogged.

I was gratefully reading some inspiring blog posts and so very grateful for the amazing response I got to yesterday’s post.

Then things started to go down hill.

I did not gratefully exclaim a few choice expletives when my mother-in-law unexpectedly arrived. I was not grateful that I hadn’t managed to get out of my PJ’s yet (it was 11am). I was not grateful that the kids had recreated the bombing of Hiroshima in the living room while I had slept in. Overall, I was a bit pissed off.

But then, I was grateful that my mother-in-law was sympathetic to me being sick, grateful she graciously ignored the bombsite, grateful she entertained the kids while I showered, and VERY grateful she cleaned up the play dough.

And in hindsight, I’m grateful she motivated me to get out of my PJ’s because it really did make me feel a whole lot better.

Don’t forget to visit the gorgeous Kymmie over at A Day in the Life of Us who is hosting  Maxabella loves… this week.

Comments

  1. What a terrible moment for a MIL to arrive! But I’m glad it all turned out well and I hope you feel better soon.

  2. Oh Nee, that’s a funny post! I LOVE my mother in law, so there is never an expletive when she arrives. I know she loves us all no matter how tragic the house looks!

    I hope you’re on the mend and feeling better soon. Sometimes just being positive makes the world of difference, so I expect you’re on the up and up.

    Thanks so much for linking up today! xx

  3. Hope you’re feeling better soon Nee. Such hard work being sick when you have little kids who don’t understand about Mother Sick Leave!! Take Care, Cazxx

Leave a Reply

