Grateful for photographs, memories & shared experiences

163704_large

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m terrible with photographs – I take millions but apart from uploading them on the blog or FB, I rarely do anything with them.  I have them stored on the lappy, 2 hard drives, 3 USBs, the iPad, a couple of photoboxes and, of course, my iPhone.  I was grateful for  My Pigeon Pair’s post yesterday on the topic which made me feel less like an archival failure! Photo organisation is definitely on the holiday to-do list.

Despite my haphazard storage of them, I was ever so grateful for photos this week when the Wilful One started asking questions about his great-grandfather. My mum’s dad died when I was 8 months pregnant with him so they never got to meet.  Questions about Great Granddad Fred led to questions about death and what happens when we die and ultimately the Wilful One’s realisation that he will one day die too (OMG those words are hard to write!).  I have to admit I was slightly taken aback by how upset he was, as we have discussed death fairly openly with him up to this point, having lost a few furry and finned members of the menagerie over time. He knew that death also came to people but I don’t think he fully comprehended the gravity of the situation before now.  

I must highlight at this point that the conversation happened at a particularly bad time.  The eve of The Man’s first night away, after a late night home from daycare and with a hysterically over tired Bam Bam present.  Serendipitously, my BFF and I had only recently discussed her own daughter’s reaction to death and I gratefully drew on her experience to piece together an explanation for the Wilful One that gave him some measure of reassurance and got him off to sleep. He was comforted by the knowledge that even when someone is gone we still love them and hold them in our memories and hearts.  

The next morning we looked through the multitude of photos and found some pics of Great Granddad Fred and also the boy’s great grandparents on The Man’s side. The Wilful One yet again stunned me by his maturity and asked if the photos could be put in his room so “I can look at them and aways remember”. I am shamed by (yet grateful for) this request as it is a task I have been meaning to do since his birth – I even have the empty frame still hanging in the ex-nursery. Slackest. Mother. EVER.

And to my dear Granddad Fred, I miss you so much. You would be so proud of this boy and I promise through my memories and photographs they will both know who you are and will love you like I do.

 

 

 

 Linking up with Maxabella Love’s Grateful for… hosted by Lemon Rhodes.

Gorgeous family tree image via We Heart It

Comments

  1. Beautiful post Nee, you made me tear up. I lost my dad when I was 13 & I often wonder what he would think of my kids & also how I’ve turned out. He would haves loved teaching his grandkids all kinds of things.
    Gorgeous photo of you & your grandad, you’ve given me a reminder to organize my photos 🙂 keep blogging!

    • Thanks hun. All these years I’ve know you & I didn’t know that about your dad. I’m sure he’d be super proud of you and your beautiful kids. xxx

  2. Such a gorgeous post. You made me cry! Beautifully written Nee

    I have to get my but into gear and actually organised my photo’s and print the ones I have been meaning to print for ages.

    xx

  3. You have made me think about organising my photo’s. I’m like you have them sorted digitally everywhere. Need to get them in one place & organised. Might take a while though. I am going to check out My Pigeon Pair’s post. x

  4. I am so glad my post was helpful!!! I am nearly up to date with my “project life” but this weekend you will find me under the stairs digging out all my photos to store them in one place!!! What a treasured photo that is with your grandfather. Priceless.

  5. This is a gorgeous post and apart from making me get teary – you have inspired me to sort out my photos too 🙂 xx

  6. That is a gorgeous photo too. You know I love photos and I’m a bit of a photo order freak, but that is ok, it’s not for everybody, the fact that you have the photos is what is important, there is always tomorrow to do something with them, as long as you have some when that time comes. Because the reality is you can’t turn back time to take more.

    • That’s a wonderful way of looking at it & certainly makes me feel a little less guilty although if any of my electronic devices die before I get organised I’ll be heartbroken!

  7. Oh Nee, you’ve brought tears to my eyes. I lost my Pop only two years ago and so reading your words and looking at that photo brings back so many memories.
    Since reading My Pigeon Pair’s post, I’m also in “photo mode” at the moment!! Didn’t realise how many I had to sort through! Ahhhh!

  8. Such a sweet post Neé, reminds me i should really start framing all those photos i have! thanks for linking up with me 🙂

  9. Oh Nee! That’s beautiful and what a beautiful pic of you and your Grand-dad. It’s a shame the previous generations miss out on seeing their handiwork. Beautiful post.

    Anne xx

    • Thanks Anne. We really are very lucky as we still have 3 surviving great grandparent to our boys. Their relationship is greatly cherished & it gives me much happiness that my boys’ will have very fond first hand memories of them. x

  10. I’m just the same with my photos. I really need to get them sorted and up on a wall!! I love that family tree in the pic – what a fabulous idea. Wish I was that creative 🙂

Leave a Reply

