Quick Peanut Butter Cookies

It’s no newsflash that I love shortcuts. This peanut butter cookie recipe is my ultimate quick fix for that panicky feeling you get when you’ve got people arriving for a visit at late notice and you find yourself contemplating what sort of catering miracles you can conjure up with 2 bruised apples, a cheese slice and a jar of jalapenos (possibly something to consider for a future post).

In any case, these cookies have got me out of a tight spot or two.  A couple of pantry staples and 10 minutes later your house will smell delectable and you’ll look like the domestic goddess I wish I was.

Note: I’m sorry, these are no good for nut & egg allergy sufferers. You may need to work on your apple/cheese/jalapeno repertoire.

3/4 cup Peanut Butter (I use extra crunchy)

3/4 cup castor sugar

1 egg

Combine ingredients and dollop spoonfuls of mixture on a lined baking tray. Flatten slightly with a wet fork. Bake in a moderate oven until brown – about 7 minutes. Cookies will be soft when hot but will firm up on cooling. Told you it was easy!!

Peanut Butter Biscuits

This recipe is actually from a Weight Watchers cookbook. The batch is supposed to make 30 cookies (1 old-fashioned WW point each) but with my generous dolloping, I’m yet to get more than 15 out of a batch.

When you aren’t in panic mode, this is a great recipe for getting the kids to help with.  The amount of compliments I get about these little gems is rather amazing for something so simple.

So tell me, what’s your fail safe for last-minute catering? Do you have your own version of peanut butter cookies?

Comments

  1. weight watchers?? wowsas these look delish!! thanks for posting them 😉

  2. I whipped some of these up for Playgroup wed morning & they went in a flash! Everyone loved them! Especially since they are gluten free as some of the mothers &/or kids are. Thanks Nee!! Xx

  3. Can’t believe these bad boys came from Weight Watchers. Awesome, they must be good for me 😉

Leave a Reply

