Hot date & a trip to Hogwarts

This morning I had a hot date with a very handsome young man.

After we dropped Bam Bam off at kindy, the Wilful One & I ran a few errands, had some sushi and then headed to our Prep interview.

Waiting outside the Principal’s office transported me back 25 years (eek!) in time. Why do school administration buildings carry such a shudder-worthy vibe, I wonder? All the folk wandering the halls seemed pleasant enough. I think it was the sound of the Deputy Principal scolding some children that made me sit on the edge of my seat.  It’s not that she was being shouty or cruel. In fact, it was the exact opposite. Her tone was a bit condescending, like she was talking to small children. Which of course she was. It just didn’t sit right with me as these children were obviously not preppies. They were young but not babies. Perhaps it’s just because I don’t speak to my kids like that.  Especially when they are in trouble!

In any case, it turned out to be the Deputy Principal with the sugary sweet scolding that we were scheduled to meet. Out she came all gushy and, well, sweet. How ironic it was that as we entered her office, she asked the Wilful One what his favourite colour was. “Pink” was his immediate (and predicted) response.  Taking a quick survey of the room, I immediately identified that my son and the lady with the sickly sweet voice had something in common.

On the desk there was a pink pencil-case, a pink pencil holder and an iPad in a pink case. On the wall there was a white board with a pink border and beneath that a sideboard with some pink ornaments. In the corner stood a tall glass vase with, you guessed it – pink flowers.

I quickly prompted the Wilful One to say his second favourite colour (purple) in a bid to reassure her I hadn’t primed him to charm her. Then I noticed what colour blouse she was wearing.  Purple.  She smiled sweetly and we progressed with the interview.

I couldn’t quite put my finger on it, but there was something about this pink lady that struck me as familiar. It wasn’t until I mentioned to her that we were also on the waiting list of the new school in the area that it dawned on me.  When I watched her back straighten and her sweet smile tighten as a hint of an edge came to her voice, I suddenly realised who she reminded me of…

I know. I’m being a little mean and judgemental. Miss Deputy Pink was young and perky and you never know, by the end of next year we  may be the best of friends.  I just couldn’t ignore the resemblance…

Do you know someone who reminds you of a movie character?

I’m excited to be linking up with Jess @ Diary of a Stay at Home Mum for the very first time for IBOT. It will be shortlived but hopefully for the next few weeks while I’m on holidays I’ll be able to say:

 

 

 

 

 

Image from here

Comments

  1. I don’t know anyone who reminds me of a movie character but I know a relative of my hubby’s who reminds me of a Chinese John Howard, yes, Chinese! (my hubby is Chinese).

  2. Bah ha ha! There is something about school offices isn’t there! I don’t have anyone that reminds me of a movie character but one of the regulars in the shop I work in is a dead ringer for Tony Abbott…

  3. Classic! Great montage too. I had a teacher who looked like the Roald Dahl characters from the Twits!

  4. Hilarious!!Gave me goosebumps too 🙂

  5. Ha ha hilarious! I could just see the scene unfolding in front of me.,

    Boatman and I were comparing characters on Winnie the Pooh to people we know the other day. It was a lot of fun, (although of course highly judgmental!)

    Thanks for linking up! Hope to see you again 🙂

  6. Awesome post. hehe
    My school principal had a huge wart on the tip of his nose, and he was really short. He looked like a leprechaun. It was hard to take him serious, when the wart was almost bigger then his head hehe.. Nasty i know but true! x

  7. Nee! This is a bloody good post!! OH MY GOODNESS DOLORES UMBRIDGE KILLS ME EVERYTIME! #beware

  8. Love it! And reading that gave me goose bumps, mission accomplished xx

Leave a Reply

