Things I know… now that I’m a Mum

21st April 2009 - Bam Bam 1 day old, The Wilful One 2.5 yrs

With the 5 year anniversary of becoming a mother fast approaching, I’ve been doing a little reflection. There are so many things I thought I knew before I had kids, but being a mum has taught me a whole lot more than I expected. Spending time last weekend with women who don’t have children has also made me realise how differently I approach things these days.

Here are a few things I know now I’m a mum:

I know now that baby wipes are not just for wiping babies. I use them for everything! I’m not sure how I ever lived without them before.

 I know now oversized handbags do serve a purpose aside from making a fashion statement.

 I know now that a human being can survive purely on bananas and chicken nuggets for 6 months and still develop normally.

 I know now that bribing children is not only ethical, it is integral for the continued survival of our species.

I know now that a band-aid and a kiss can fix most things.

I know now that it’s possible for you to love someone so much you fear your heart may burst and want to throttle them at the same time.

 I know now what all those laundry detergent ads where on about.

I know now that wine really does have medicinal properties.

I know now that going to the toilet or having a shower by oneself  are absolute luxuries that should never be taken for granted.

I know now that the word “Mummy” can be the sweetest thing or the most irritating thing, depending on how many times you’ve heard it in the last 20 minutes.

I know now that Huggies have the most powerful marketing campaign. Ever.

I know now what unconditional love is.

I know now that being somebody’s mummy is indeed the hardest but most rewarding job in the whole world.

I know now where all those bloody clichés come from.

What do you know now that you are a mum?

Linking up with Shae from Yay for Home for Things I Know.

Comments

  1. love it!! It’s all sooooo true!… scary huh? 🙂
    xx

  2. I know every word you speak is so. very. true! Especially about bribing! And bananas and chicken nuggets… Oh, and baby wipes, too!

  3. So true. It’s amazing the things you learn and discover once you become a mum!

  4. Hehe, love this post. All of it is so, so true.

  5. Great points! The bandaid and the kiss one, for sure!! My goodness, the amount of times that one has worked for me!! 🙂

  6. I think I can agree with most of the above, particularly the toilet alone… And I “hate” Huggies ads, I’m always an emotional mess after anything pulling on the heartstrings… 😉

  7. Hi Nee. Fantastic list. I agree with everything on it. What I know now that I’m a Mum is that everyone, absolutely every Mum is going through the same thing. Even those perfectly groomed women with the kids in designer clothes. Their only difference is they have a lot of help but they still go through the same things. I also know that I have a sense of arrogance when I hear of someone I know having a baby. I know pregnancy is an absolutely wonderful time of your life and should be enjoyed, every moment of it. But I just chuckle to myself now knowing what they will go through. Sadistic, aren’t I? LOL

    Anne xx

    • I know what you mean!! One of the girls on our shopping trip is getting married soon & look horrified at some of the little bombshells we dropped about the “joy” of children 😉

Leave a Reply

