It’s all fun and games: a letter to my boys

To my dearest boys,

When will you learn that it is all fun and games until someone…

  • gets punched in the stomach
  • headbutts the brick fireplace
  • gets hit in the face with a metal train
  • face plants the tiles
  • gets whacked in the boy bits

Yes, all of these things sound familiar because they have already happened and more.

I understand you are boys. I know you like playing rough.  I will even go so far as to say I vaguely understand how it is beneficial to your manchild development by building resilience and other important… stuff.

However, I am here to tell you that I am not a referee. Nor am I one of those trainer types who runs onto the field to staple someone’s eyebrow back together. (Although for a while there I did fancy being a team physio so I could massage torn hamstrings for the likes of Dan Carter. Your father’s torn calf muscle earlier this year cured me of all such delusions).

The long and short of it is, at the moment you are both small and the tussles you have are mostly play. They resemble WWE Wrestling – big and showy but no one takes them seriously.  

However, I know there will come a time when these little skirmishes will become more testosterone-infused and we will have an all out brouhaha on our hands.  Things will get broken and there will be serious injuries. This is not an appealing prospect for me.

So my darling boys, please remember: 

It’s all fun and games until your mother has to turn the hose on you.

Linking up with  Jess @ Diary of a Stay at Home Mum for IBOT.

 

Comments

  1. That was hilarious, Nee! Bit more difficult at my end with one boy and one girl – boy goes in for biffo and the girl goes all… well, “girly” and cries about it! At least he’s learning early that no means no :-). Maybe he can have a “stacks on” at your place!

    • Rest assured there is lots of “girl” crying about it here too! I’m sure we can give your darling boy plenty of opportunities to unleash his inner WWE wrestler ;P

  2. Nothing more distressing and amusing than a little brouhaha! My husband and his brother STILL carry on like this when they see each other, my lounge was destroyed in one such incident.
    I wish I had thought to use the bloody hose!

  3. Hehe! I have no experience with manchildren of my own, so largely miss out on the rough and tumble.

    Girls bicker. I’d have no problem turning the hose on them either.

  4. Oh this made me laugh. It sounds just like our house. Maybe I should try a hose too 🙂 xx

  5. Lovely post about boys Nee. My boy is still only 9 months old, but I am looking forward to hosing him down!

  6. You know, my boys are already like this with one another and they are only 17 months old!! It’s just BOYS!
    Loved this letter, made me giggle!
    Oh, and the hose – genius!

  7. Boys are completely different aren’t they? I have to keep reminding three year old Bailey that isis baby sister does not like to be pushed over, or hit on the head, and yet he doesn’t get it!

    Thanks for linking up today! 🙂

  8. Ha Ha ha.. Boys! say no more. xx

  9. oh dear! seriously cringed when I read the list of accidents your boys got into haha… guess you are pretty good with first aid by now 🙂

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka
    New: Wordless Wednesday Linky Party

  10. Hahahaha boys! They are so strange 😉

  11. Nee! That was brilliant! you get that hose out and show those manchildren who is the boss!

    maybe turn the trampoline into a cage fighting area and hose them from there for extra laughs! love your work!

Leave a Reply

