Wonderful Weekend: Christmas Cooking

So far we have been without a landline or ADSL connection for 6 days. Don’t get me started on Telstra, but please forgive any glaring errors in this post as I’m working on my iPhone and auto correct hates me.

Apart from yelling at call centre staff, this weekend has been consumed with Christmas cooking. Yesterday we tried out The Man’s new cake box and baked our very first Christmas cake.

A few people asked why my family use a wooden box instead of a cake tin. I’ve ascertained it is to retain moisture in the cake while it cooks slowly over a long period (4hrs). It’s a big cake!

The boys had lots of fun helping and I’m really excited about this new/old tradition for us as a little family.

The secret recipe.

20111218-211132.jpg

The fruit soaked in rum for 3 days – smelt divine!

20111218-211847.jpg

Stirring… as usual.

20111218-212043.jpg

Into the box it goes. Yes, The Man is wearing a Winnie-the-Pooh apron. Yes, it was under duress (kinda ;P)

20111218-212143.jpg

The final product!!

20111218-212951.jpg

It’s a bit crumbly but very yummy and awesome for our first attempt. We are pretty chuffed with the results.

Speaking of chuffed, on Friday I baked Christmas Tree Brownies for the boys’ kindy party which were a huge hit.

20111218-213407.jpg

Yesterday I also whipped up a variation of this white rocky road recipe to go with some cherry ripe fudge inspired by Clare at The Home She Made, which I’ll be making today. These will go into jars for the boys’ teachers as a Christmas gift.

So as you can see I’ve been quite the little festive chef this weekend. It’s a real shame I’m not as organised for Christmas day itself!!

What’s your favourite Christmas recipe?

Liking up with the lovely Sonia at Life, Love & Hiccups for Wonderful Weekends.

Née xx

Comments

  1. It’s so wonderful that you are giving your boys such special memories. I bet they’ll remember the tates and smells of your kitchen for a lifetime!

  2. Love all these Christmas recipes!!

  3. Phwooooaaar I could totally make a dent in that fabulous cake if you just let me at it. 🙂
    Loving the Winnie Apron and ahem *cough Cough* I can see he was totally resisting 😉 xxx

  4. Oh yum, although I’d be happy with just a spoonful of that fruit ;o) lol

  5. Snap! I made Christmas Star Brownies 🙂

    Love that you cook your cake in a box.. so traditional!!!!

    Hope you have a fabulous Christmas and New Year!!

  6. Oh wow those food look so yummy!! Love the idea for the Christmas tree brownies!! 🙂 it will be a huge hit with adults at parties too for sure! 🙂

    Ai @ Sakura Haruka

  7. Oh Nee! I can smell it from here! It looks divine! I’ve got some dried fruit soaking for plum puddings Every time I walk into the kitchen I can smell it but no one else can. Must be a flashback from my alcohol fuelled days. LOL Well done on all the cooking. Sorry to hear about your bad experience with Telstra. Ours is with 3 at the moment. Never ends.

    Anne xx

Leave a Reply

