Toilet training trials and tribulations

20120106-113047.jpg

Toilet training has to be one of the most trying periods for parents of small children (in excellent company with sleep deprivation, breast feeding and teething, just to name a few).

Bam Bam is currently 32 months old. We have been toilet training for months and we have reached a stalemate. He knows what to do. He knows when to do it. He just isn’t interested in doing it on someone else’s terms.

As with many things, I thought toilet training would be easier with the second child. As with many things relating to the second child, I was dead wrong.

Bam Bam constantly forces me to reevaluate what I think I know about parenting.

Here are some things I know about toilet training from experiences past and present:

I know toilet training a child who responds to bribes rewards (The Wilful One) is much easier than training one that doesn’t (guess who).

I know that sometimes the most menial things can push you to the brink.

I know that a correctly deposited #2 is worthy of celebrations of epic proportions.

I know I have reserves of patience I never knew existed.

I know creative negotiation is a lot more effective than demands or threats but can be much harder to initiate.

I know my reluctance to deal with a few days weeks months period of puddles on the floor perpetuates the use of pull ups as an “easy option” for both of us.

I know I need to bite the bullet and face the puddles.

I know he’ll do it “when he’s ready”.

I know that it will be before he’s 18, even though it doesn’t feel like it some days.

I know this too shall pass.

What do you know about toilet training? Any tips for a hard case?

Linking up with Kellie @ The Good, The Bad & The Unnecessary for Things I Know

Née xx

Comments

  1. coloursofsunset says:

    One thing I know about toilet training – my husband was so much better and so much more patient than I was with it. He did almost the whole day 1 on his own and was awesome. I thank my lucky stars all the time that Nick seemed to “get it” quite quickly. We did have our fair share of puddles though, and he still sometimes has a bad day. Hang in there. Hope it clicks soon!

  2. Lipgloss Mumma says:

    It’s tough. With Miss 6 we were done in three days. Amazing! She was just ready. I tried with Miss 3 at 24 months but she wasn’t ready so after a week we gave up. A few months later we tried again, some thing. Then a month or so later. Boom! She got it. I tried not to stress about it and put up with the little accidents. We also went cold turkey. No nappy pants. Big girl undies all the way. You will get through it 🙂

  3. There is a reason we don’t remember our first three years. I believe toilet training may be a big part of this.

  4. I saw this link on Twitter and I was going to say the last 3 things you said.
    See, you know it all already. Doesn’t make it happen any quicker…but it will happen!

  5. I know I feel your pain. Just keep on keeping on. Fairy wishes and butterfly kisses to you all

  6. I totally understand Née! Rachael used to hide under the table & do #2’s in her pants when she fully understood it was wrong.. & Andy will refuse to try just because I suggest it! Good luck & keep at it 🙂

  7. Oh Nee. I really feel for you. One thing I know for sure is that they just ‘get it’ one day, on their terms. After all the problems and delay I had in getting my boy toilet trained, he’s never once worn a nappy to bed nor has he wet the bed. He used to poo in the backyard with the dogs never on the toilet until he was at least 3! I never thought he’d be allowed to go to Kindy because he had to be toilet trained and then one day, he just ‘got it’. It’s an awful time to go through and I promise you, you’ll look back at it and wonder how you ever got through it.

    Anne xx

Leave a Reply

