School Run Etiquette

At 3 weeks in, I’m still a rookie when it comes to this whole school run bizo. Even so, at this early stage in my career I’ve already made a couple of interesting observations regarding parent behaviour during school pick up & drop off time.

In the spirit of being a supportive fellow parent, I’ve compiled a short list of handy points to remember when depositing your precious cargo at their educational institution.

1. Bus zones are for buses. Car parks are for cars.

2. Drop off zones are for quick drop offs, not parking.

3. Car parks are for parking cars, not quick drop offs.

4. Teacher only car parks are ONLY for teachers.

Now please stop me if I’m going to fast for you. I know it can be tricky…

5. The speed limit in school zones is 40. There is no “1” in front of it.

6. A speed bump is designed to slow you down. Building up speed on approach really does defeat the purpose.

7. I understand that some of you feel that shoes are optional attire. Pants, however, are most definitely NOT.

And lastly, but most importantly:

 8. Neither your time, nor your child, is more important than mine or anyone else’s. 

Please show some common courtesy and respect.

Does the school run get a little unruly in your neck of the woods?
Comments

  1. Well said indeed! Fortunately things at our school aren’t too bad I must say – haven’t come across the ‘pant-less’ types ….. yet!

  2. ill keep these points in mind when school drop off and pick up becomes a daily part of my routine 🙂 insert point for those drivers driving past school zones… dropping your kids off in the middle of the road with cars waiting behind you is so not on! x

  3. coloursofsunset says:

    I feel like maybe this was not supposed to be funny, but I laughed out loud nonetheless. The things I have to look forward to…lends a lot of merit towards moving into a house down the road from the school!

  4. Hell ya – I need to print this off and paste it all ove our schools kiss and drop zone. It does my head in. Dont forget pushing in the Kiss and Drop line – so rude. And parents – it is KISS then Drop not KISs Kiss Kiss Kiss hug Kiss Hus Kiss attempt to drop more Kiss Kiss Hug wave and wait to till the disappear. lol 🙂 xx

  5. Crikey! My reasons not to breed keep mounting! Breathe darling. You’ll whip ’em all into line!

  6. Tracy Williams says:

    I spotted a crochet dress with only underwear under, oooh so not a good look lol

  7. Oh yes. I always use the rear car park at our school which is marginally better than the main one, but… Grr. The one that makes me rage the most is the quick drop off in the middle of the road when I’m trying to get past to park my car and the queue of traffic is backed up behind me.

  8. All I can say is- No Pants? WHAT??? Hahaha that is hilarious!!

Leave a Reply

